‘New Horizons from North East’ Section Opens at IFFI


‘New Horizons from North East’ section opens at IFFI. The North East section of IFFI, 2015 ‘New Horizons from North East’was inaugurated by Director, Directorate of Film festival, Shri C. SenthilRajan and CEO, Entertainment Society of Goa (ESG) ShriAmeyaAbhyankar here today. The ‘New Horizons from North East’ opened with an Assamese film ‘Xondhikyon’ directed by the budding director M. Maniram.

Speaking on the occasion, Shri C SenthilRajan, the Festival Director said that North East has a special place in our country. This festival provides a platform for exposure of Indian directors to International delegates. We plan to take this festival to different parts of the country, he added. He also said that this section will showcase a special retrospective on the eminent film director AribamShyam Sharma. The Festival Director also said that this section is important for the young directors from the North East.

The performance by Laihui group from Manipur during the inaugural enthralled the audience present at the event. The ‘New Horizons from North East’ will have two sections. The first section will be ‘A special retrospective on ace filmmaker AribamShyam Sharma’.AribamSyam Sharma isan eminent film director, actor, and music composer from Manipur. He has received15 National Film Awards, Padma Shri and Dr. V. Shantaram Lifetime Achievement Award. His films, ImagiNingthem (My Son, My Precious) received the ‘Grand Prix’ at the Festival des Trios Continents in 1982; Ishanou(The Chosen One) was the Official Selection (Un Certain Regard) for the Cannes Film Festival, 1991; and the British Film Institute declared his filmSangai – the Dancing Deer of Manipur asthe Outstanding Film of the Year 1989. The films to be screened in the retrospective sectioninclude Orchids of Manipur, ImagiNingthem, Matamgi Manipur, YelhouJagoi,Ishanou(Cannes selection), OlangthageeWangmadasoo, Paari, Manipuri Pony, KoroKoshii – the Gate, The Deer on the Lake, The Monpas of Arunachal Pradesh, Meitei Pung, Lai Haraoba and The Marams.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here